Rituals Of Hajj, You Need To Know Before Leaving For The Holy Land

January 7, 2021

Hajj is one of the important worship activities for Muslims. The pilgrimage is one of the fifth pillars of Islam, once in a lifetime. This divine Ibadah that is carried out in the Holy Land, Mecca and Medina, this is the completion of a Muslim’s Islam. The pilgrimage has certain conditions.

While waiting for your turn to go to the Holy Land, there is nothing wrong with updating your insight and knowledge of your religion, especially regarding the procedures for the pilgrimage. Apart from being able to come to the recitation, learn from a religious expert, also take part in the Hajj rituals which are required several months before the day of departure.

hajj rituals

Another important thing that must be understood by every Muslim who is going to Hajj is the rituals/procedures for Hajj. Hajj rituals are simulations of Hajj pilgrimage that are carried out according to the original procedures. Below, we summarize the procedures for the pilgrimage that you should and must know before leaving for the Holy Land.

Pillars of Hajj

Rukun haji is an act that must be imposed and cannot be replaced by paying a fine. If someone leaves one pillar of Hajj, the Hajj is not valid. there are 6 pillars of Hajj, namely:

1- Ihram or intention of Hajj

2- Wukuf in the field of Arafah

3- Tawaf (around the Kaaba)

4- Sa’I (jogging between the hills of Safa and Marwah)

5- Cutting or shaving hair

6- Orderly

Mandatory Hajj

An obligatory hajj is an act that must be done in the haj pilgrimage. If the obligatory Hajj is violated, then the Hajj is invalid except by paying a dam (fine) by slaughtering an animal.

There are six obligatory hajj, namely;

Cutting hair or other body hair.

Ihram or intention for Hajj starting from the miqat (the specified limit)

Mabit (overnight) in Muzdalifah on the night of the Hajj

Throwing three jumrahs, namely: jumrah ula, wusta jumrah, and aqabah jumrah.

Mabit (overnight) at Mina

Tawaf Wada ‘(tawaf farewell)

Abstain from prohibitions or actions that are forbidden in Ihram such as:

For men, it is forbidden to wear sewing clothes.

Covering the head for men and covering the face for women

Cutting nails.

Wear fragrances.

Carry out aqad of marriage.

Procedures for the pilgrimage

1. Before the 8th of Dzulhijjah, all pilgrims begin to carry out the Tawaf Hajj at the Grand Mosque (Makkah).

2. The 8th day of Dzulhijjah (Tarwiyah Day) is called the day of tarwiyah because the pilgrims prepare sufficient supplies to go to Mina and Padang Arafah because both places have no water source.

3. Pilgrims perform ihram for the pilgrimage, starting with bathing, wearing fragrances, and wearing ihram clothes, while reciting Talbiyah.

4. Going to Mina and after being in Mina, they offer zhuhur, Asr, maghrib, and evening prayers and morning prayers. Each prayer is done on time, but the prayer with a total of four rakats becomes two rakats. The congregation remains in Mina until the sun rises on the 9th of Dzulhijjah.

5. On the 9th of Dzulhijjah, in the morning all pilgrims went to the field of Arafah to perform wukuf. Then all the pilgrims carry out the Wukuf worship, which is to stay silent and pray in the fields of Arafah until Maghrib arrives. It is sunnah for the congregation to stop in Namirah and if possible stay there until the sun slides.

Namirah is a place that is located near the border of Arafah, when the sun slips, and enters zhuhur time. It is sunnah for the imam or someone who is represented to deliver a sermon in front of the congregation, regarding the condition of the Muslims, to re-renew tauhid, the laws surrounding the pilgrimage, and other important matters.

6. Time of wukuf in Arafah starts from dawn on 9 dzulhijah until dawn on 10 dzulhijah. Anyone who performs wukuf at that time, even for a while, is deemed to have performed wukuf, and his hajj is valid.

7. On the 9th night of Dzulhijjah, all pilgrims go to Muzdalifah to mabit (spend the night at Muzdalifah) and take stones to throw enough jumroh.

8. On the 9th of Dzulhijjah at midnight or after performing mabit, the pilgrims continue their journey to Mina to perform the Jumroh throwing ceremony.

9. On the 10th of Dzulhijjah, the pilgrims perform Jumroh throwing as many as 7x to Jumrah Aqabah as a symbol to cast out demons. Continued with tahalul that is shaving the hair or part of the hair.

10. If the congregation takes the early nafar then they can continue their journey to the Grand Mosque for Tawaf Hajj or complete Hajj.

11. Meanwhile, if you take the last nafar, the pilgrims will stay in Mina and continue by throwing the sum of connections, namely the sum of ‘Ula and the sum of Wustha.

12. On the 11th of Dzulhijjah, the pilgrims threw the number of connections (Ula) on the first pillar, the second pillar, and the third pillar.

13. On the 12th of Dzulhijjah, the pilgrims threw the number of connections (wusta) on the first pillar, the second pillar, and the third pillar.

14. Then the last pilgrim returned to Makkah to perform Tawaf Wada ‘which is Tawaf farewell before returning to their respective countries.

If you are looking for a lifetime journey with no hassle and discomfort or you want to
take advantage of the high standard hajj packages 2021, then the best option is to book with Travel to Haram, ATOL Protected & IATA certified Travel Partner offering hajj packages all inclusive including shifting hajj packages and non shifting hajj packages at the most affordable price.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *